People

Faculty

Professor of Linguistics, PI
polinsky@fas.harvard.edu

Professor Polinsky’s work is at the intersection of theoretical syntax and the study of cross-linguistic variation in sentence structure. Language-wise, she specializes in Austronesian and languages of the Caucasus. These days she divides her time between theoretical and experimental work on long-distance dependencies, ergativity, and subject island effects. Her research interests include:

  • language universals and their explanation
  • comparative syntactic theory
  • information structure in natural language
  • incomplete acquisition (heritage languages)
  • Austronesian and Caucasian languages

Post-docs

gagliardi@fas.harvard.edu

Annie Gagliardi received her PhD in 2012 from the University of Maryland. Her research focuses on first language acquisition, examining how children use both the data available in the environment as well as their own cognitive capacities to acquire language. Annie is examining these questions in the acquisition of noun classes in Tsez and Norwegian, word learning and the acquisition of filler gap dependencies, using a variety of experimental and computational techniques.

blarson@fas.harvard.edu

Graduate Students

cytsai@fas.harvard.edu

Dorothy Ahn

dorothyahn@fas.harvard.edu

Jenny S. Lee

lee37@fas.harvard.edu
kplaster@fas.harvard.edu
shbae@fas.harvard.edu

Zuzanna Fuchs

zuzannafuchs@fas.harvard.edu

Lab Assistants

Abel Corver

acorver@college.harvard.edu

Anna Dimitrijevic

annadimitrijevic@college.harvard.edu

Ben Gittelson

lilgittel@gmail.com

Hannah Lam

hlam01@college.harvard.edu

Jon Miles Rossi

jon.m.miles@gmail.com

Ken Mai

kmai@college.harvard.edu

Morris Germansky

msg@brandeis.edu
longenbaugh@college.harvard.edu

Visitors

Liwen Hou

liwen.hou@mail.mcgill.ca

Collaborators

UCSC
bharizan@ucsc.edu
CUNY Staten Island
sekerina@mail.csi.cuny.edu
Harvard University
University of Chicago
mxiang@uchicago.edu

Miwako Hisagi

Iona College
mhisagi@hotmail.com
UCLA
okagan@humnet.ucla.edu
UCSD
kluender@ling.ucsd.edu
University of Hawaii
fukudash@hawaii.edu

Former Members

Anoush Youssoufian

Arun Viswanath

Bohye Ko

Conor Walsh

Dustin Heestand

Gabrielle Tandet

scontras@fas.harvard.edu

Jeremy Aron-Dine

John Stokes

Kyongjoon Kwon

lreby@fas.harvard.edu

Lili Kocsis

Matt Clemens

mateo@fas.harvard.edu

Sam Pokross

Siena Leslie

Steve SanPietro